June 7 Iowa Primaries Will Define 2022 General Election Races

June 3, 2022

Hot topic issues such as mandatory vaccine policies, school choice and other policies have energized activists seeking election to the Iowa House and Senate and driven an increase in the number of candidates. This phenomenon is compounded by the once a decade House and Senate redistricting, meaning some sitting same-party officeholders are forced to square off. It is rare for ABI to get involved politically in primaries, but this year is much different. The non-partisan Board of the Iowa Industry Political Action Committee (IIPAC) has awarded the “Friend of Iowa Business” designation to those who have a positive track record with ABI and find themselves in competitive primaries. Those candidates are:

Iowa Senate

District 5: Dave Rowley: Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Winnebago, Palo Alto Counties and Northern Clay County

Iowa House

District 4: Skyler Wheeler: Lyon County and Northern Sioux County

District 15: Matt Windschitl: Harrison County and part of Pottawattamie County

District 60: Jane Bloomingdale: Mitchell and Worth Counties and part of Cerro Gordo County

District 66: Lee Hein: Jones County and most of Jackson County

District 87: Joe Mitchell: Van Buren County and parts of Henry and Jefferson County

If the individuals above are on the ballot in your area, please keep the Friend of Iowa Business designations in mind as you head to the polls next Tuesday June 7, 2022. You can find your polling location and additional information on voting here.