ABI’s PAC Endorses Friends of Iowa Business

September 4, 2018

DES MOINES—The Iowa Association of Business and Industry’s (ABI) political action committee (IIPAC) has announced its much-anticipated Friends of Iowa Business endorsements for 2018.

“ABI is proud to endorse candidates who, like our organization, have placed Iowa’s workforce at the top of their priorities,” said ABI Board Chair David Bywater.

Statewide candidates who have received the Friend of Iowa Business endorsement are:

  • Governor – Kim Reynolds
  • Secretary of State – Paul Pate
  • Auditor – Mary Mosiman
  • Secretary of Agriculture – Mike Naig

 “We want to ensure the reforms and policies that have benefited Iowa employers and the hundreds of thousands of individuals they employ stay in place,” said ABI President Mike Ralston.

 A list of the IIPAC-endorsed legislative candidates by district number follows. I indicates the candidate is an incumbent, C indicates the candidate is a challenger and O indicates the candidate is running for an open seat.

Iowa Senate

District 3: Jim Carlin, I

District 5: Tim Kraayenbrink, I

District 7: Rick Bertrand, I

District 9: Jason Schultz, I

District 11: Tom Shipley, I

District 13: Julian Garrett, I

District 15: Zach Nunn, O

District 19: Jack Whitver, I

District 25: Annette Sweeney, I

District 27: Shannon Latham, C

District 41: Mariannette Miller-Meeks, O

District 47: Roby Smith, I

District 49: Chris Cournoyer, O

Iowa House

District 1: John Wills, I

District 2: Megan Jones, I

District 3: Dan Huseman, I

District 4: Skyler Wheeler, I

District 5: Tom Jeneary, O

District 6: Jacob Bossman, I

District 7: Tedd Gassman, I

District 8: Terry Baxter, I

District 10: Mike Sexton, I

District 11: Gary Worthan, I

District 12: Brian Best, I

District 16: Mary Ann Hanusa, I

District 17: Matt Windschitl, I

District 18: Steve Holt, I

District 19: Chris Hagenow, (incumbent running in an open seat)

District 20: Ray Bubba Sorenson, O

District 21: Tom Moore, I

District 22: Jon Jacobsen, I

District 23: David Sieck, I

District 24: Cecil Dolecheck, I

District 25: Stan Gustafson, I

District 27: Joel Fry, I

District 37: John Landon, I

District 38: Kevin Koester, I

District 39: Jake Highfill, I

District 42: Peter Cownie, I

District 43: Michael Boal, O

District 44: Anna Bergman, O

District 48: Rob Bacon, I

District 49: Dave Deyoe, I

District 50: Pat Grassley, I

District 51: Jane Bloomingdale, I

District 54: Linda Upmeyer, I

District 55: Michael Bergan, I

District 57: Shannon Lundgren, I

District 58: Andy McKean, I

District 60: Walt Rogers, I

District 63: Sandy Salmon, I

District 67: Ashley Hinson, I

District 68: Randy Ray, O

District 72: Dean Fisher, I

District 73: Bobby Kaufmann, I

District 76: Dave Maxwell, I

District 78: Jarad Klein, I

District 79: Dustin Hite, O

District 80: Holly Brink, O

District 84: Joe Mitchell, O

District 88: David Kerr, I

District 91: Gary Carlson, I

District 92: Ross Paustian, I

District 94: Gary Mohr, I

District 95: Louis Zumbach, I

District 96: Lee Hein, I

District 97: Norlin Mommsen, I

The nonpartisan IIPAC Board, comprised of IIPAC contributors, makes the Friend of Iowa Business selections. The board encourages voters to consider these endorsements when evaluating where candidates stand on business.

Candidates are evaluated on their support for a competitive business climate and their focus on a regulatory climate conducive for job creation. Criteria included positions on issues based on interviews, stated approach to general business community concerns, voting records of incumbent candidates, and input from ABI members and IIPAC contributors.